Message from the General Co-Chairs

On behalf of the Organizing Committee, we are delighted to welcome you to the 25th International Teletraffic Congress (ITC 25) on September 10-12, 2013 in Shanghai, China.

China has achieved fast development in recent years in information communication science and technology, with the developments of IT and telecommunications around the world.

Since its inception in 1955, ITC has been a forum linking academia community, operators, and industry world, to strive for understanding and improving the way traffic is handled in ever evolving and emerging communication networks. The primary component of ITC 25 is the technical program that is presented as single-track sessions spanning three days, September 10-12. It includes 32 regular papers, 4 keynote speakers, a panel, and a single poster session. Prior to the main Congress four tutorials are delivered on September 9.

Supported by ITC, BUPT organized the first International Seminar on Teletraffic and Network (ISTN-ITC/CIC) in Beijing in 1988, just 25 years ago. Since then, BUPT organized several ISTN-seminars in Beijing (1992), Xi’an (1997), and Hangzhou (2000). In 2005, ITC19 was organized by BUPT in Beijing.
We would like to take this opportunity to thank the two Honorary General Co-Chairs, Gaofeng Zhu (Academician, Chinese Academy of Engineering, P.R. China) and Xiongjian Liang (Professor, Beijing University of Posts & Telecommunications, P.R. China) , for their contribution to the past ISTNs and ITC 19.

The composition of the technical program requires engagement of many people. We would like to acknowledge our appreciation to Zhisheng Niu (Tsinghua University, P.R. China), Kurt Tutschku (University of Blekinge, Sweden), Zhanhong Xin (Beijing University of Posts & Telecommunications, P.R. China), and Moshe Zukerman (City University of Hong Kong, Hong Kong, P.R. China), who have put together an excellent technical program.

We thank Paul Kuehn (University of Stuttgart, Germany) and David Tipper (University of Pittsburgh, USA) for organizing the tutorials, and Phuoc Tran-Gia (Univ. of Wuerzburg, Germany), for organizing an exciting panel on Energy efficiency, Network Performance, and Users' Quality of Experience in a Scalable Future Internet. Victor Yu Liu (Huawei, USA) was successfully responsible for publication of the proceedings.

Hiroshi Saito (NTT Labs, Japan) and Jim Yan (Canada) handled the student travel grant review process. We are grateful to the International Advisory Council of the ITC for their support, especially to the Chairman, Prosper Chemouil, who was responsible for IEEE Technical Sponsorship and very dedicated to the success of ITC 25. And, in particular, we thank everyone who submitted and is presenting a paper at the Congress. The quality of their work is what makes ITC so vital.

We thank the IEEE Communications Society for technically co-sponsoring ITC 25, and ACM SIGCOMM for the in-cooperation agreement. We would like to express our sincere thanks to the sponsors of ITC 25: International Teletraffic Congress (ITC), China Institute of Communications (CIC), and Beijing University of Posts & Telecommunications (BUPT).

The organization of the congress required engagement of many people: the National Organizing Committee Co-Chairs, Yu Pan (Beijing University of Posts & Telecommunications, P.R. China), Weihua Zhang (Shanghai Telecom, P.R. China), and the General Secretary, Shuling Yan (China Consulting Center for Science and Technology, P.R. China), Yan Wan (BUPT, P.R. China) provided us with the necessary local support for activities associated with the congress. We finally appreciate the efforts of Yumei Huo, Jing Zhang (BUPT, P.R. China) and Daisy Sun (China Peace International Tourism Co., Ltd) in the various day-to-day organizational matters.

We hope you will benefit from the technical aspect of the conference and have an enjoyable time in Shanghai.

Tingjie Lu, BUPT, P.R. China Villy-Baek Iversen, DTU, Denmark

Message from the TPC Co-Chairs

On behalf of the Technical Program Committee (TPC), it is our pleasure and honor to present to you the technical program of ITC 25 that covers the state-of-the-art in analysis, control and design of telecommunications networks and systems. The program includes sessions on traffic modeling and analysis, congestion control, performance analysis, routing and traffic management, load balancing, game theory applications, energy efficiency, resource allocation and network calculus.

The technical program will also include four keynote presentations to be given by Dr. Chih-Lin I from China Mobile, Prof. Raouf Boutaba from University of Waterloo, Prof. Ping Zhang from Beijing University of Posts and Telecommunications, and Dr. Nick Duffield from AT&T-Labs Research, who will present their views on a range of topic associated with the future of ICT.

In addition, we are delighted to announce that the ITC 25 program is hosting a panel session of renowned international experts on the challenges of energy efficiency, network performance and users' QoE for future networks. Franco Davoli and Raffaele Bolla, from DITEN-University of Genoa and CNIT, Italy, which are research leaders in these areas, are going to organize the panel. Furthermore, four tutorials are offered one day ahead of the main conference program. The tutorial address methodological and technology challenges of future networks. The tutorial presenters are Eric Wong (City University of Hong Kong, Hong Kong, P.R. China), Gangxiang Shen (Soochow University, China), Hongbin Luo (Beijing Jiaotong University, China), and James Roberts (SystemX Institute, France).
This year, 91 papers were submitted to the main conference program. Out of them, 32 were accepted for oral presentations and seven additional papers will be presented as poster presentations. The review process involved 206 TPC members from both academia and industry. All papers received at least 3 reviews and many papers received 4 reviews. Each paper was assigned a TPC lead to moderate an online discussion ahead of the TPC meeting. The online TPC meeting was held on May 16, 2013 and was kindly hosted by the Blekinge Institute of Technology.

Finally, the TPC co-chairs wish to thank in particular the TPC members and external reviewers that provided paper reviews and attended the seven-hour long online TPC meeting for the conference. Without their diligent and hard work the program could not have been put together.
Enjoy the conference!

The ITC 25 TPC Co-Chairs:
Zhisheng Niu, Tsinghua University, P.R. China
Kurt Tutschku, Blekinge Institute of Technology, Sweden
Zhanhong Xin, Beijing University of Posts & Telecommunications, P.R. China
Moshe Zukerman, City University of Hong Kong, Hong Kong, P.R. China